List of North London Postcodes Complete

North London is the region of London, England that is located north of the Thames River. It stretches from Clerkenwell and Finsbury, on the outskirts of the financial district of the City of London, to the border between Greater London and Hertfordshire. North London is referred to as such to set it apart from south, east, and west London. Central London also includes several areas of north London. There is a Northern postal region, although it excludes several places that are typically considered to be in north London while include some places that aren't. 

North London encompasses several boroughs and districts, including Camden, Islington, Barnet, Enfield, and Haringey. The postal code system, commonly referred to as the "postcode," is an essential component of efficient mail sorting and delivery within North London.

Postcodes in North London follow a specific structure consisting of letters and numbers. They typically begin with one or two letters that represent the geographic area or borough, followed by a numerical digit and two additional alphanumeric characters. These characters provide further precision, identifying specific streets, buildings, or districts within North London.

For example, some common postcodes in North London include:

  • N1 for areas in Islington and parts of Camden
  • N2 for areas in East Finchley and parts of Barnet
  • N7 for areas in Holloway and parts of Islington
  • N13 for areas in Palmers Green and parts of Enfield
  • N22 for areas in Wood Green and parts of Haringey

Including the correct postcode on mail items is essential for accurate and efficient delivery within North London. It helps postal workers identify the destination area and deliver the mail to the correct address.

To find the correct postcode for a specific address in North London, individuals and businesses can consult official postcode directories provided by the Royal Mail or use online postcode lookup tools. These resources allow users to input an address or location and retrieve the corresponding postcode.

The postcode system in North London supports effective communication, facilitates postal services, and enables businesses to operate smoothly within the area. It ensures that mail and parcels are delivered accurately and in a timely manner to residents, businesses, and institutions in North London's diverse neighborhoods and districts.

The North London postcode system is an integral part of the broader postal infrastructure, contributing to the efficient functioning of the mail delivery network and enhancing the connectivity and communication between communities within the area.

North London ZIP Code

One post town and 25 postcode districts are included in the North London or London N postcode area. The N postcode area also has 112 postal sectors. The postcode area covers the boroughs of Barnet, Camden, Enfield, Hackney, Haringey, and Islington in London.

North London

Postcode Area

Postcode District

District and Area (whole or partial coverage)



Colville Estate, Whitmore Estate, Barnsbury Estate, The Angel, Canonbury, Kings Cross, Islington, Pentonville, De Beauvoir Town, Liverpool Rd, Arden Estate


Northern head District


Kings Cross Central, Kings Cross St. Pancras, Canal Reach, York Wy, Camley Street Natural Park


N1 and N1C PO Box


Islington and St. Pancras Cemetery, East Finchley Cemetery, East Finchley, Lyttelton Playing Fields, Hampstead Garden Suburb


East Finchley District


Finchley, Finchley Central, Church End, Victoria Park, West Finchley


Finchley District


Finsbury Park, The Castle Climbing Centre, Manor House, Harringay Warehouse District, Harringay Green Lanes,


Finsbury Park District


Highbury Square, Highbury Fields, Arsenal


Highbury District


Highgate, Highgate Golf Club, Waterlow Park, Hampstead Heath


Highgate District


Market Estate, Hilldrop Estate, Caledonian Road, Holloway, Barnsbury, Finsbury Park, Highbury and Islington, Tufnell Park


Holloway District


Hornsey, Priory Park, Crouch End, Stationers Park


Hornsey District


Claverings Industrial Estate, Lee Valley Leisure Complex, Lower Edmonton, Edmonton


Lower Edmonton District


Muswell Hill, Queen’s Wood, Friern Barnet


Muswell Hill District


New Southgate, Friern Barnet, Bounds Green, New Southgate Cemetery and Crematorium, Arnos Grove


New Southgate District


North Finchley, Woodside Park, Friern Barnet


North Finchley District


Broomfield Park, Palmers Green, Tottenhall Recreation Ground, Tatem Park Recreation Ground


Palmers Green District


Southgate, Oakwood, Arnos Grove, Bramley Sports Ground, Grovelands Park


Southgate District


South Tottenham, Harringay, West Green, Seven Sisters, Markfield Park, Duckett’s Green


South Tottenham District


Stoke Newington, Stamford Hill, Shacklewell, Dalston, Newington Green, Clissold, Abney Park, Upper Clapton, Stamford Hill


Stoke Newington District


Tottenham, Little Russia, Bruce Castle Museum, Broadwater Farm Community Centre


Tottenham District


Silver Street, Pymmes Park, Upper Edmonton, Edmonton


Upper Edmonton District


Whittington Park, Upper Holloway, Archway, Elthorne Park


Upper Holloway District


Whetstone, Totteridge, Oakleigh Park, Brook Farm Open Space, North Middlesex Golf Club, South Barnet


Whetstone District


Winchmore Hill, Bush Hill, Grange Park, Grovelands Park Play Area


Winchmore Hill District


Wood Green, Bowes Park, Alexandra Park and Palace


Wood Green District


Electoral Reform Services