List of South West London Postcodes Complete

The London SW postcode area, commonly referred to as the SW (South Western) postcode region, is a collection of 20 postcode districts located in the English post town of London. It is the only area within the London post town to lie on both sides of the River Thames and is made up of the South Western operating district (including the subdivisions of postcode district SW1, as well as SW2 through SW10) and the Battersea operational district (encompassing SW11 through SW20). Mail for the region, as well as mail for the TW, KT, and GU postcode areas, is sorted at the Jubilee Mail Centre in Hounslow.

South West London encompasses various boroughs and districts, including Wandsworth, Richmond upon Thames, Lambeth, and parts of Merton and Kingston upon Thames. The postal code system, commonly referred to as the "postcode," plays a vital role in facilitating efficient mail sorting and delivery within South West London.

Postcodes in South West London follow a specific format, consisting of letters and numbers. They typically begin with one or two letters representing the geographic area or borough, followed by a numerical digit and two additional alphanumeric characters. These characters provide further precision, identifying specific streets, buildings, or districts within South West London.

Some common postcodes in South West London include:

  • SW1 for areas in Westminster, Pimlico, and parts of Belgravia
  • SW6 for areas in Fulham, Parsons Green, and parts of Sands End
  • SW12 for areas in Balham, Clapham South, and parts of Wandsworth
  • SW19 for areas in Wimbledon, Colliers Wood, and parts of Merton
  • KT1 for areas in Kingston upon Thames and parts of Hampton Wick

Including the correct postcode on mail items is essential for accurate and efficient delivery within South West London. It enables postal workers to identify the destination area and deliver mail to the correct address.

To find the correct postcode for a specific address in South West London, individuals and businesses can consult official postcode directories provided by the Royal Mail or utilize online postcode lookup tools. These resources allow users to input an address or location and retrieve the corresponding postcode.

The postcode system in South West London supports effective communication, facilitates postal services, and enables businesses to operate smoothly within the area. It ensures that mail and parcels are delivered promptly and accurately to residents, businesses, and institutions in South West London's diverse neighborhoods and districts.

The South West London postcode system, as part of the broader postal infrastructure, enhances connectivity, promotes efficient mail delivery, and contributes to the overall functioning of the postal network in the area.

South West London ZIP Code

The City of Westminster, Kensington and Chelsea, Lambeth, Wandsworth, Hammersmith and Fulham, Richmond upon Thames, Croydon, and Merton are just a few of the London boroughs included in the South West postcode area. It makes use of the SW postcode area, which consists of 139 postcode sectors, 29 postcode districts, and one post town. Wimbledon uses the most prevalent postcode, which is SW19.

South West London

Postcode Area

Postcode District

District and Area (whole or partial coverage)



Constitution Hill, Buckingham Palace, St James’s


Westminster, Northern Victoria


St James’s Park, Victoria St, Queen Anne’s Gate


Victoria Tower Gardens South, Millbank, Westminster Cathedral


Pimlico, Churchill Gardens, Vauxhall Bridge


Abbots Manor, Victoria Station, Eaton Square Garden of, Belgravia Park, The Royal Mews Buckingham Palace


Belgravia, Knightsbridge and Chelsea, Hyde Park Corner


St James’s, Waterloo Gardens


Brixton Hill, Brockwell Lido, Tulse Hill, Brixton, Streatham Hill, Clapham


Brixton District


Chelsea,  Knightsbridge


Chelsea District


Clapham, Stockwell


Clapham District


Earls Court


Earls Court District


Fulham, West Brompton, Walham Green, Hurlingham, Parsons Green, Putney Bridge


Fulham District


South Kensington, Gloucester Road, Knightsbridge


South Kensington District


Patmore Estate, South Lambeth, Vauxhall, Wandsworth Road, Nine Elms, Clapham North, Oval


South Lambeth District


Vassal, Brixton, Stockwell, Clapham, Oval


Stockwell District


Cremorne Estate, Worlds End Estate, Chelsea Harbour


West Brompton District


Battersea, Clapham Junction, Battersea Park, Battersea Power Station, Queenstown Road, Nine Elms


Battersea head District


Balham, Clapham Park, Oaklands Estate


Balham District


WWT London Wetland Centre, Barnes Bridge


Barnes District


North Sheen, Mortlake, East Sheen


Mortlake District


Putney, East Putney, Roehampton, Putney Heath, Putney Vale, Queen Mary’s Hospital, Roehampton Vale


Putney District


Streatham, Streatham Common, Norbury, Streatham Park, Streatham Hill, West Norwood


Streatham District


Tooting Bec, Grosvenor Way, Tooting Broadway


Tooting District


Wandsworth, Wandsworth Common, Southfields, Earlsfield


Wandsworth District


Wimbledon, Colliers Wood, Merton Park, Haydons Road, Merton Abbey, Wimbledon Park, Southfields, Morden


Wimbledon District


Raynes Park, Cottenham Park, Bushey Mead, Lower Morden, Copse Hill,  Wimbledon Chase


West Wimbledon District